Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Alamo Heights High School: AP Music Theory

Welcome to your Libguide! This is your one-stop shop for all your library needs.

JSTOR

What is JSTOR? A leading collegiate database for Juniors and Seniors, plus students in AP coursework. You will use this database in college. 

Why should I care? Students who know how to use JSTOR are more successful in transitioning to college-level expectations. You can work through the advanced search tutorial to be a MASTER SEARCHER!

What else should I know? Once you sign-in to the Alamo Heights JSTOR account, you can create your own personalized My JSTOR account. You can curate resources here for any class. It's JSTOR your way!

 

Biography in Context

Discovery Education

What is it?

A research tool paid for by AHISD. You can search video, images, documents, maps, et. al. Use the search box at the top center of the page or the advanced search tool below the search box.

How do I login?

Go to the Password Help Google Doc and find Discovery Education for the generic login. I can also setup a personal account for you to use with any class. Let me know if you'd like a personal account! 

 

Baker's Dictionary of Musicians

List of Composers by Period of Music

Brittanica Encyclopedia

Resources

The Oxford Dictionary of Music

        With over 10,000 entries, the Oxford Dictionary of Music (previously the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music) offers broad coverage of a wide range of musical categories spanning many eras, including composers, librettists, singers, orchestras, important ballets and operas, and musical instruments and their history. Over 250 new entries have been added to this edition to expand coverage of popular music, ethnomusicology, modern and contemporary composers, music analysis, and recording technology.  The Oxford Dictionary of Music is the most up-to-date and accessible dictionary of musical terms available and an essential point of reference.


Princeton University LibGuide on Music Theory

     Locate online and print resources, including key databases, catalogs, Web sites, and bibliographies, as well as search strategies, locations, and a wealth of other information about music at Princeton.


IMSLP- Petrucci Music Library

International Music Score Library Project, a public domain of music. 


The Library of Congress and the Smithsonian -- U.S. Archives

The National Jukebox

The U.S. Library of Congress  makes historical sound recordings available free of charge. Recordings include collections from the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation among other archive sources. 

Performing Arts Encyclopedia

The Performing Arts Encyclopedia (PAE) provides information about resources owned by the U.S. Library of Congress. These resources include scores, sheet music, audio recordings, photographs, et. al.

Smithsonian Folkways

Smithsonian Folkways Recordings is the nonprofit record label of the Smithsonian Institution. Embedded within their purchase options are free listening samples you could use for your project.