Welcome, 6th grade researchers! Use this page to help you with your research on topics featured in Sharon Creech's heartwarming novel, Walk Two Moons.
Video created by Leslie Hermann.
Walk Two Moons by Use the resources on this page to find information about the topic you are researching. See your teachers with questions about the assignment. If you need help finding information, please come to the library or email your librarian, Ms. Persyn.
More information will be posted here as I get it from your teachers.
Encyclopedias are a good starting point for most research that you will conduct at the Junior School. These reliable sources will offer you a concise overview of your topic, and direct you to other trustworthy resources for additional information. Click the links below to explore your topic. After reading the article be sure to click on the tabs that direct you to additional information. Try searching them both and comparing what they have to offer. Let me know your favorite by voting in the poll below (after you explore them).
Sometimes the information you need cannot be found in an encyclopedia. Below you will find links to websites that might be helpful. Remember to think critically and evaluate websites when gathering information. You want to make sure that the information is published by a reliable source, updated with current information, and is accurate and unbiased.
E. E. Cummings by
Even before his groundbreaking style helped change the landscape of American poetry, E. E. Cummings was going against the grain. Defying the traditionalists of the early 20th century, Cummings lived a life devoted to the shifting archetypes of art and literature, and wrote some of the most celebrated poetry of the modern era. Nearly a century after his first works were published, E. E. Cummings is still inspiring readers. Noted nonfiction writer Catherine Reef provides a well-rounded portrait of Cummings while examining the culture in which he lived as he developed his craft. Serving as both an exploration of his rich and sensational life as well as a foundation from which readers can learn about his work, this comprehensive biography includes Cummings’s original sketches and paintings, quotes from friends and family, photographs, and the poetry of Cummings and his peers. Bibliography, endnotes, index.
Henry Wadsworth Longfellow by
Longfellow's fifty-year career as a poet resulted in classic narrative poems including "Paul Revere's Ride" and "The Song of Hiawatha."
Pandora by
Pandora has been warned about the forbidden jar. Although she is surrounded with gifts and has rooms, gardens, and a courtyard to explore, Pandora is drawn to one room--the one that holds that jar. Is Pandora’s curiosity a curse? In a seamless blend of prose and verse--and drawing from traditional mythological sources--Robert Burleigh dramatically tells Pandora's story for young readers. Complemented by Raul Colón's bold illustrations,Pandora is an unforgettable introduction to the classic myth.
Rushmore by
This is the fascinating story of how Gutzon Borglum, gifted sculptor and son of immigrants, overcame tremendous obstacles to create the world's most immense stone carving. Lynn Curlee's compelling narrative and stunningly composed, realistic paintings eloquently relate the monument's historical context and reveal fascinating details about its construction.
South Dakota: The Mount Rushmore State by
The 52-volume World Almanac Library of the States is the most up-to-date state set available, and it's the one School Library Journal calls more complete than its competitors. In addition to an in-depth factual profile of each state, every book offers fascinating and lively discussions of the state's history, people, geography, government, economy, culture, and lifestyles. Each title also includes a section on Notable People, a calendar of events, full-color photos, maps, charts, graphs, time lines and other tools to make this unquestionably the best young adult reference set available.
Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks by
Lonely Planet: The world's leading travel guide publisher Lonely Planet Yellowstone & Grand Teton National Parksis your passport to all the most relevant and up-to-date advice on what to see, what to skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Spot a pack of wolves on the hunt in Lamar Valley, watch Old Faithful erupt, or paddle through Grand Teton's alpine lakes; all with your trusted travel companion. Get to the heart of Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks and begin your journey now! Inside Lonely Planet Yellowstone & Grand Teton National Parks Travel Guide: Colormaps and images throughout Highlightsand itineraries show you the simplest way to tailor your trip to your own personal needs and interests Insider tips save you time and money and help you get around like a local, avoiding crowds and trouble spots and being safe and responsible Essential infoat your fingertips - including hours of operation, phone numbers, websites, prices, transit tips, emergency information, park seasonality, and hiking trail junctions, viewpoints, landscapes, elevations, distances, difficulty levels, and durations Honest reviewsfor all budgets - including eating, sleeping, camping, sight-seeing, going out, shopping, summer and winter activities, and hidden gems that most guidebooks miss Contextual insights give you a richer and more rewarding travel experience - including history, geology, wildlife, and conservation Over45 trail and park maps Useful features - includingDriving Tours, Travel with Children,andDay and Overnight Hikes Coverage of Yellowstone National Park, Paradise Valley, Wapiti Valley, Gallatin Valley, Grand Teton National Park, Jackson, and more The Perfect Choice:Lonely Planet Yellowstone & Grand Teton National Parks, our most comprehensive guide to Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks, s perfect for those planning to both explore the top sights and take the road less traveled. Looking for more extensive coverage? Check outLonely Planet's Western USAguide for a comprehensive look at all the region has to offer. Looking to visit more than one national park in the USA? Check outLonely Planet's Discover USA's Best National Parks, a photo-rich guide to the country's 27 most popular natural attractions. Authors: Written and researched by Lonely Planet, Bradley Mayhew, and Carolyn McCarthy. About Lonely Planet: Started in 1973, Lonely Planet has become the world's leading travel guide publisher with guidebooks to every destination on the planet, as well as an award-winning website, a suite of mobile and digital travel products, and a dedicated traveler community. Lonely Planet's mission is to enable curious travelers to experience the world and to truly get to the heart of the places they find themselves in. TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards 2012 and 2013 winner in Favorite Travel Guide category 'Lonely Planet guides are, quite simply, like no other.' - New York Times 'Lonely Planet. It's on everyone's bookshelves; it's in every traveller's hands. It's on mobile phones. It's on the Internet. It's everywhere, and it's telling entire generations of people how to travel the world.' - Fairfax Media (Australia)
Yellowstone National Park by
Yellowstone, America's first national park, covers more than 3,400 square miles and is widely known as the home of the Old Faithful geyser, grizzly bears, and the bald eagle. Its unique landscape, shaped hundreds of thousands of years ago by supervolcanos and glacial melting, includes natural wonders like steam vents, colorful hot spring pools, canyons, and towering waterfalls. Author David Aretha tells the fascinating tale of the park's history and the variety of wildlife found in the park, including elk, bison, moose and gray wolves. Coverage of controversies such as snowmobile access and wolf management efforts is included, as well as a full inventory of visitor attractions.
|
the little horse is newlY e.e.cummings
the little horse is newlY
Born)he knows nothing,and feels
everything;all around whom is
perfectly a strange
ness(Of sun
light and of fragrance and of
Singing)is ev
erywhere(a welcom
ing dream:is amazing)
a worlD.and in
this world lies:smoothbeautifuL
ly folded;a(brea
thing a gro
Wing)silence,who;
is:somE
oNe.
|
The Tide Rises, the Tide Falls Henry Wadsworth Longfellow The tide rises, the tide falls,
The twilight darkens, the curlew calls;
Along the sea-sands damp and brown
The traveller hastens toward the town,
And the tide rises, the tide falls.
Darkness settles on roofs and walls,
But the sea, the sea in the darkness calls;
The little waves, with their soft, white hands,
Efface the footprints in the sands,
And the tide rises, the tide falls.
The morning breaks; the steeds in their stalls
Stamp and neigh, as the hostler calls;
The day returns, but nevermore
Returns the traveller to the shore,
And the tide rises, the tide falls.
|